October 23, 2020



To interested parties:

We, the undersigned\*, endorse H.R. 8424, the Supreme Court Term Limits and Regular Appointments Act.

We are pleased that a formal legislative proposal to limit future justices to 18 years of high court service has been introduced and is advancing public discourse on court reform.

Though the bill is not perfect, we believe it to be a critical piece in prescribing how our country's leaders can work to depoliticize the Supreme Court and its confirmation process.

Sincerely,

\*Institutional affiliation for identity purposes only D. Benjamin Barros, Dean and Professor of Law, University of Toledo College of Law Harold H. Bruff, Emeritus Professor of Constitutional and Administrative Law, University of Colorado Law School Kevin M. Clermont, Robert D. Ziff Professor of Law, Cornell Law School David Faris, Associate Professor of Political Science, Roosevelt University Caroline Fredrickson, Distinguished Visitor from Practice, Georgetown Law School Tom Ginsburg, Leo Spitz Professor of International Law, University of Chicago Law School Ted Kaufman, former U.S. senator, D-Del.; former Professor of the Practice, Duke University School of Law Raymond Ku, Professor of Law, Laura B. Chisolm Distinguished Research Scholar, Case Western Reserve University School of Law Michael Lawrence, Past Foster Swift Professor of Constitutional Law, Michigan State University College of Law Brian Leiter, Karl N. Llewellyn Professor of Jurisprudence, University of Chicago Law School Gerry Leonard, Professor of Law and Law Alumni Scholar, Boston University School of Law Thomas McAffee, Emeritus Professor of Law, UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law Samuel Moyn, Henry R. Luce Professor of Jurisprudence, Yale Law School Eli M. Noam, Garrett Professor of Public Policy and Business Responsibility, Columbia University Business School Philip D. Oliver, Byron M. Eiseman Distinguished Professor of Tax Law, University of Arkansas at Little Rock Norm Ornstein, Resident Scholar, American Enterprise Institute Richard Parker, Williams Professor of Law, Harvard Law School L.A. Scot Powe Jr., Anne Green Regents Chair in Law, University of Texas at Austin School of Law William L. Reynolds, Jacob A. France Professor Emeritus of Judicial Process, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law Kermit Roosevelt, Professor of Law, University of Pennsylvania Law School Thomas D. Rowe Jr., Elvin R. Latty Professor Emeritus of Law, Duke Law School Eric Segall, Ashe Family Chair Professor of Law, Georgia State University College of Law Christopher J. Sprigman, Professor of Law, New York University School of Law Joan Steinman, Professor of Law Emerita, University Distinguished Professor Emerita, Chicago-Kent College of Law, Illinois Tech Nadine Strossen, John Marshall Harlan II Chair Emerita, New York Law School Louis J. Virelli III, Professor of Law Stetson University College of Law Artemus Ward, Professor, Department of Political Science, Northern Illinois University Adam Winkler, Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law Mary Ziegler, Stearns Weaver Miller Professor, Florida State University College of Law Michael D. Zimmerman, former Chief Justice of the Utah Supreme Court